211 Long Island

211 Long Island

All Users

Directory of health, human service, and education agencies and programs on Long Island - services for children, teens, adults, families, and seniors in both Nassau and Suffolk counties.  [Formerly Community Resource Database of Long Island]  

ABMS (American Board of Medical Specialists)

ABMS (American Board of Medical Specialists)

The ABMS Directory provides access to professional information about more than 900,000 board certified physicians in 50+ specialties and 100+ subspecialties from the 24 member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). (SMTH)

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile

The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

AllData Repair

AllData Repair

Today's mechanical repair and collision repair professionals need more than paper car manuals and generic repair information. Car recalls; Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs); detailed, factory-correct wiring diagrams repair information and more are easy to find and use.  (SMTH)

Amazing Animals of the World

Amazing Animals of the World

For elementary and middle school students, Amazing Animals of the World introduces young researchers to the nearly 1,200 incredible creatures with whom they share the earth. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

America the Beautiful

America the Beautiful

A comprehensive database about the states and territories of the U.S. designed to meet the needs of all grade levels. It is highly visual, fact-filled, interest-driven, and user-friendly. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

American Journeys

American Journeys

All Users

American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. (ALL)

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition

One of the most important genealogical sources available today.  (Proquest, SMTH)

AREIS (Advanced Real Estate Information System)

AREIS (Advanced Real Estate Information System)

AREIS is a database containing real estate tax maps for Suffolk County.  It is searchable by tax map number, last name or address.  It is for in library use only.  Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk. (SMTH)

Auto Repair Reference Center

Auto Repair Reference Center

Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for some vintage makes starting as far back as 1945. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Bases de Datos

Bases de Datos

Puede buscar en estas bases de datos en español. Para buscar en una sola base de datos, oprima en el nombre de la base de datos listado a continuación de las mismas. Para seleccionar más de una base de datos en que buscar, ponga un visto en las casillas junto a las bases de datos y oprima en el botón RETORNO.  (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

BBC Languages

BBC Languages

All Users

Learn a new language with an online course from the British Broadcasting Corporation. BBC Language offers free lessons in French, Spanish, German and Italian along with shorter courses in Portuguese, Greek and Chinese and helpful travel and business information in many more languages. Courses include extensive audio and video features. (ALL)

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

The Wilson Biography Reference Bank offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.  (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Book Collection: Non-fiction

Book Collection: Non-fiction

Book Collection: Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,600 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Book Index with Reviews

Book Index with Reviews

Book Index with Reviews (BIR) helps you find information on the books you want and need to read. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials

While other business resources are merely aggregations of articles, Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a user-friendly business tool. In addition to providing authoritative information and statistical data, Gale Business Insights: Essentials enables researchers to explore real world application and develop analytical skills. [Formerly Business & Company Resource Center]  (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier provides access to full-text articles from nearly 3,600 scholarly business journals, including nearly 1,050 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Career Cruising

Career Cruising

Learn more about yourself and careers that suit your interests. Search for careers and find out what they are really like. Find out where to get the education you need to start your career. (Live-brary.com)

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

An acquisition, research and reference source that offers over 1,400,000 MARC records and over 260,000 reviews of children's books, all full-text and searchable from 35 review sources. (Live-brary.com)

Citation Machine

Citation Machine

All Users

Citation Machine helps students and professional researchers to properly cite the information that they use.

Consumer Reports Magazine

Consumer Reports Magazine

Online full text access to Consumer Reports Magazine.  (Ebsco, SMTH)

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. If your library card begins with 2, enter barcode in its entirety. If your library card begins with 0, enter 2, barcode number, and add a 0 at the end. (SMTH)

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo Reference, formerly XRefer, is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research. (Live-brary.com)

eLibrary Elementary

eLibrary Elementary

Students of all ages use eLibrary Elementary's to find the answers they need from more than 390 magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts—plus thousands of maps, images, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video titles, all selected as appropriate for elementary school studies. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Encyclopedia Americana

Encyclopedia Americana

This database helps middle- to upper-grade students find a wealth of information to assist with homework and research projects. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

ERIC

ERIC

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Fold3

Fold3

Formerly known as Footnote. Search Historical Documents and more. Fold3 is a great tool for Genealogists and those doing genealogy searches. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Gannett Newsstand

Gannett Newsstand

Gannett Newstand provides access to a large selection of regional and local newspaper publications from around the country. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

General OneFile

General OneFile

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior

Find information for the business traveler including country information, business etiquette, travel essentials, telecommunications, and money and banking. A comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference source available in a highly organized and consistent format.  (Live-brary.com)

GreenFILE

GreenFILE

GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles,as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.  (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Packed with the sights and sounds that make learning fun, this encyclopedia is appropriate for younger students. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Grolier Online Kids

Grolier Online Kids

A kid friendly place to search the Encyclopedia of Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, New Book of Knowledge, and America the Beautiful, as well as, magazines and web sites. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Health Reference Center Academic

Health Reference Center Academic

Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online

U.S. federal census records 1790-1930 plus searchable family histories.  (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

History Reference Center

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 59,640 historical documents, 50,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Home Improvement Reference Center

Home Improvement Reference Center

The Home Improvement Reference Center (HIRC) is a full text database accessible via a custom EBSCO interface. It is intended for use in public and academic libraries and is designed to assist homeowners in do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects. Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating are provided in high-quality PDF files. Additionally, thousands of articles from magazines and reference books provide tips and suggestions to supplement the step-by-step project instructions.  (Ebsco, SMTH)

Hoovers Premium

Hoovers Premium

All Users

Offers business information for millions of companies. Includes company histories, executives, products, industry overviews, financial data, news and SEC filings. (SMTH)

InfoTrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand contains over 100 million full-text articles in thousands of international, national, state and local newspapers. Includes articles between 1980 and the present. Includes New York Times, NYT Book Review & NYT Magazine from 1985 to present. (Gale)

Job & Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator

All Users

Take your job search to the next level with Job & Career Accelerator! Get detailed information on occupations that suit your interests. Access current job listings from over 5 million job postings, which are collected from all major job boards. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques and more. Job & Career Accelerator is your guide to getting hired! (SMTH)

Kids infoBits

Kids infoBits

All Users

This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. It is developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5, featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface. (Live-brary.com)

La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre

La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre

Spanish resource. Timelines, atlases, maps, Spanish language lessons, and much more - all in Spanish. Estupendos recursos en Español. Continuidad cronologica, atlas, mapas, lecciónes in Español y mucho más - todo en Español. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Lands and Peoples

Lands and Peoples

Provides information on cultures, geography, languages, and news and history of every independent country and continent in the world with maps, flags, photos, and Web links. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

LawDepot

LawDepot

Receive unlimited access to thousands of legal forms across all categories, including Real Estate, Business, Human Resources, Family, and more. All LawDepot forms, contracts, and agreements are created by a full-time team of lawyers. They are updated often in accordance with changes in the law.  (Live-brary.com)

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library

All Users

Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want-at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you. Creating a username and password is required and allows Learning Express to remember you and what you were working on. (SMTH)

Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LIS...

Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literary Reference Center Plus

A highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC Plus is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center

Includes information about authors and their works and is intended for high school students, as well as undergraduate and graduate students.  (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Mango Languages

Mango Languages

All Users

Mango's unique teaching method quickly engages you in real conversations between two native speakers. Your instructor will take you through every step of the process! Each lesson revisits previously learned material, but you have complete control over your learning experience. Select a course to begin learning! (Live-brary)

Masterfile Elite

Masterfile Elite

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Elite also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily. (Ebsco, Live-brary)

MEDLINE Full Text

MEDLINE Full Text

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. (Ebsoc, SMTH)

MEDLINE Plus

MEDLINE Plus

All Users

Health information from the National Library of Medicine for health professionals and consumers.

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration [NHTSA]

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration [NHTSA]

All Users

A free Internet resource with crash test results, automotive recalls, and links to information on all aspects of automobile safety.

National Newspaper Index

National Newspaper Index

National Newspaper Index provides indexing of the Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post and The Los Angeles Times and other national and regional newspaper publications.(ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

New Book of Knowledge

New Book of Knowledge

A classroom resource for both current events and in-depth information. All the resources of the print version of The New Book of Knowledge—its informative articles, maps and illustrations, facts and figures, Wonder Questions, and projects and activities—are here at your fingertips. Articles are written in a clear, lively style that encourages young students to read. Thousands of photos, maps, flags, and artwork accompany the encyclopedia articles. All political maps contain hot-spotted links to articles and other related maps. Plus, The New Book of Knowledge Online includes a feature created just for online users: NBK News—weekly current events stories plus special features geared especially for young students. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

New Book of Popular Science

New Book of Popular Science

Contains hundreds of articles in the print version plus science games, puzzles, and brain teasers. Top-of-the-news science stories are updated weekly. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)

New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

New York State Newspapers

New York State Newspapers

Newspapers from the cities of Albany, Buffalo and Syracuse, plus the New York Observer, the New York Post, and the New York Daily News back to January 2000. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

New York Times (1985-present)

New York Times (1985-present)

Full-text from 1985 to the present of the New York Times. To search NYT Book Review or NYT Magazine see New York State Newspapers above. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

New York Times Historical (1851-2009)

New York Times Historical (1851-2009)

The entire historical run of The New York Times from 1851-2009. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Newsday

Newsday

Complete articles from 1985 onward.  (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Newsday Historical (1940-1984)

Newsday Historical (1940-1984)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 28 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers. (Ebsco, SMTH)

NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8 Plus

Provides a student-focused interface and a database of young adult, children's and easy titles designed for children in pre-K, elementary or middle schools or your library's children's room.  (Ebsco, SMTH)

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. It includes information such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList Plus answers the question: What should I read next? (Ebsco, SMTH)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

All Users

Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints.  Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types:  reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Pronunciator

Pronunciator

All Users

With Pronunciator you can learn up to 80 different languages! Choose from a variety of different learning tools for the learning style that suits you best. Perfect you pronunciation with the Pronunciation Analysis tool which provides real time feedback. Additionally, ESL learners can learn English in 50 different languages! (Live-brary)

ProQuest Platinum Periodicals

ProQuest Platinum Periodicals

Search the premier collection of periodicals from ProQuest, covering all aspects of general reference including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences, and current affairs. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA

All Users

Contains detailed information on more than 20 million U.S. businesses and 222 million U.S. residents. Please enter the first four digits of your library card number if you are outside the library. (SMTH)

Regional Business News

Regional Business News

Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.  (Ebsco, SMTH)

Salem Health

Salem Health

Salem Health covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. The Guide includes more than 1,000 essays, ranging in length from 500 to 3,500 words each. There are over 400 photographs and drawings plus 644 sidebars and tables. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Salem History

Salem History

Salem History contains more than 133 iconic full text documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Salem Literature

Salem Literature

Salem Literature has launched a brand-new Critical Insights series. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature. Edited and written by some of academe's most distinguished literary scholars, Critical Insights provides authoritative, in depth scholarship suitable for students and teachers alike. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Scholastic GO!

Scholastic GO!

For students and adults - searches four encyclopedias at once; the Encyclopedia Americana, Multimedia Encyclopedia, New Book of Knowledge and America the Beautiful. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Science Online

Science Online

Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.  (Facts on File, Live-brary.com)

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-specific content. Designed to support middle and high school curriculum, Science Reference Center encompasses all disciplines of science. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Serials Solution

Serials Solution

All Users

Start here to see where to find the magazine or newspaper you're looking for in our collection.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

SERRC contains the full set of small engine repair manuals from Clymer. These manuals contain thousands of accurate and concise step-by-step maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines and their supporting components. Routine maintenance, such as tune-ups and brake service, as well as more extensive repairs involving engine transmission disassembly are covered. Engine types include: motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Something about the Author

Something about the Author

Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Offers Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Outlook, Credit Week, mutual fund reports and more. Updated weekly and includes summaries of the companies, analyst opinions, stock outlooks, fair value and risk data, earnings and dividends rankings, technical evaluations, insider activity, price charts, and key stock statistics. (S&P, SMTH)

Student Research Center

Student Research Center

Student Research Center makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type—magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Suffolk e-Magazines

Suffolk e-Magazines

Search magazines by title or subject. (Live-brary.com)

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

All Users

A centralized, searchable collection of Suffolk's newspaper heritage selected to cover nearly 100 years of Suffolk County history. Plans of twenty-eight other county newspapers will be added, providing coverage going back as far as 1791. (Live-brary.com)

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center

Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.  (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

US/International Major Newspapers

US/International Major Newspapers

Full text collection of over 250 regional, national and international newspapers. Click here to view a title list of all newspapers included in the database. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal

Comprehensive coverage back to 1984. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Weiss Ratings/Street Ratings

Weiss Ratings/Street Ratings

All Users

Combines the strength of Weiss Ratings and TheStreet Ratings to offer the library community with a single source for financial strength ratings and financial planning tools covering Insurance, Banks, Mutual Funds and Stocks. It  is a leading independent provider of investment ratings and analysis covering thousands of Bond & Money Market Mutual Funds, Stock Mutual Funds, Exchange-Traded Funds and Common Stocks.   TheStreet.com, Inc. is a leading digital financial media company whose network includes the following properties: TheStreet, RealMoney, Stockpickr, BankingMyWay, MainStreet and Rate-Watch.   Weiss Ratings is the nation's only provider of independent ratings on the nation's 900 life and annuity insurers, 2,700 property and casualty insurers, as well as 600 health insurers and HMOs. It is among the nation's leading providers of independent ratings on 8,000 banks and S&Ls. Plus, it also distributes independent ratings on the shares of thousands of publicly traded companies, mutual funds, closed-end funds and ETFs. (SMTH)

World Vital Records

World Vital Records

Provides affordable genealogy databases and family history networking tools to a worldwide audience.  (Live-brary.com)